Knowledgebase: Payment and Billing
How do renewals work ?
Posted by Helpdesk Admin on 28 July 2009 06:46 PM

When you sign up for a domain and/or hosting subscription on our website, you do so for a fixed period of time. When that initial period is up, you need to renew your subscription(s) in order to maintain service. This article describes how our renewal system works so that you will be able to decide well in advance whether or nor you wish to renew a domain or service (and advise us accordingly).

This is especially important for domain names because when a domain name is not renewed it will initially cease to operate thus preventing it being used for email or a website. After a period of time, if it is not renewed, it will expire and eventually be deleted becoming available for anyone to register. It is not uncommon for valuable domain names to be snapped up within seconds of becoming available, so there is a very significant chance that you will lose your name permanently. 

When you register a domain (or subscribe to a hosting service) our system will mark it as 'auto-renewing'. This means that 10 days before expiry our system will generate a renewal order. If you have a valid default credit-card on your account, it will be charged and the domain or service will be renewed for the same period as the original subscription. So that this does not happen without your knowledge, our billing system will remind you 30 days before expiration, and again at 15 days. If you do not want the service to renew, you can simply click on the subscription in your control panel and remove the auto-renew status. If you instead want to renew for a longer or shorter period of time, you can manually renew the subscription for the desired period.

If a domain or subscription is not selected for auto-renewal, then our billing system will simply remind you periodically that it needs to be renewed (for safety, this will commence 60 days before expiry). At any time you can log on to your control panel and cancel the subscription, or you can manually renew it for whatever period of time you wish.

Please note that no service will be renewed unless payment has been received. This means that although a renewal order may be manually or automatically generated, the domain or subscription will not actually be renewed until your credit card has been successfully charged, or until payment has been received by other means such as FTP or cheque.

In order to ensure continued service, we strongly recommend that all domains and important services be set to renew automatically, and that valid MasterCard, Visa or Laser Card details are maintained on your account at all times.

(445 vote(s))
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful